Journey to Hong Kong
Russian Russian 简体
Home
What's New
Event Photos
Exhibition
Videos
Videos
Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra Concert
Film Festival
Wallpaper
Contact Us
 
             
           
             
 
 

Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra Concert

"It was as fascinating to see the Orchestra as it was to hear it."
Anthony Tommasini, The New York Times


Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra

Background
• The Orchestra was founded in 1977 and is the only professional, full-sized Chinese orchestra in Hong Kong. It came under the management of the Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra Limited on 1st April, 2001 when the latter took over from the Leisure and Cultural Services Department of Hong Kong. It has won the accolades as “a leader in Chinese ethnic music” and “a cultural ambassador of Hong Kong”. Under the leadership of the incumbent Artistic Director and Principal Conductor Yan Huichang (1997-date), and former Music Directors - Ng Tai-kong (1977-1986), Kuan Nai-chung (1986-1993) and Henry Shek (1993-1997), the Orchestra has been promoting Chinese music as its mission.

• The Orchestra is deeply rooted in the Chinese cultural heritage. Its performance format and repertoire include both traditional Chinese music and contemporary full-scale works. It also explores new frontiers in music through commissioning new works of various types and styles, and over the years, has commissioned over 2,100 original compositions and arrangements, many of which have won awards at home and abroad. The Orchestra currently has an establishment of 85 musicians who perform in the four sections comprising bowed-strings, plucked-strings, wind and percussion instruments. Traditional as well as improved Chinese instruments are incorporated.

Scope of Activities
• To bring the colourful world of Chinese music to the people of Hong Kong, the Orchestra organizes more than one hundred regular and outreach concerts every year, as well as mass activities and arts festivals, including Hong Kong Huqin Festival, Hong Kong Drum Festival, Hong Kong Dizi and Xiao Festival, Hong Kong Zheng Festival, Hong Kong Yanqin Festival, Composers’ Festival of Hong Kong and Conductors’ Festival of Hong Kong.

• As a cultural ambassador of Hong Kong, the Orchestra has been invited to perform at various famous venues in the world and at international festivals. It has performed in Australia, Singapore, Japan, South Korea, mainland China, Taiwan, Macao, Canada, the United States, Holland, Austria, Germany, England, France, the Czech Republic, New Zealand, Ireland, Russia; Belgium and Norway (Arctic Circle).

• To promote Chinese music to different sectors of the community and to provide long-term financial support for the development of the Orchestra, the Friends of HKCO was set up in 1998 and the HKCO Development Fund was set up in 2002.

• To nurture the growth of a new generation of music-makers and audience in Chinese music, the Orchestra gives performances in schools and organizes instrumental classes. The Hong Kong Children Chinese Orchestra and the Hong Kong Junior Chinese Orchestra were established in 2003. Educational projects were organized in conjunction with television stations, radios and other institutions, and a CD-ROM entitled The Treasure of Chinese Music: The Huqin was produced and released by the Orchestra.

• The Orchestra has joined hands with the Hong Kong Arts Development Council, The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts, universities and tertiary institutions of Hong Kong in music education projects such as the Artistic Exchange Programme, the Internship Scheme, and The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts/HKCO - Institutions Partnership Programme & Professional Orchestra Internship. In 2009, the Orchestra established the world’s first Chinese orchestral academy - The HKCO Orchestral Academy with the Xi’an Conservatory of Music.

• The Orchestra continues to develop and conduct research on Chinese traditional and contemporary music, and to strive to achieve the best acoustic effects through reforming instruments by setting up the Folk Music Group, the Chamber Music Group and the Instrument R & D Group.

• The Orchestra has an extensive discography of over 50, which includes live recordings of its concerts, studio recordings etc. in CD, VCD and DVD formats. It also launched the world’s first ever SACD recording of a live concert by a Chinese orchestra in 2003.

• The Orchestra performed the soundtrack music for such award-winning films as Warriors of Heaven and Earth and Kung Fu Hustle.

• Apart from collating and publishing papers presented at the symposia and conferences, the Orchestra also publishes books on Chinese music. The titles published to date are The Enjoyment of Chinese Orchestral Music and A Handbook to Appreciating Chinese Orchestral Music.

• In carrying out social commitments, the ‘Music for Love’ scheme was set up in September 2005 to bring the beauty of Chinese music to the under-privileged like seniors, orphans and single-parents centres etc.

International Competitions, Conferences and Symposia
•  The Orchestra organized an international conference on the development of Chinese music, entitled Retrospect and Development of Modern Chinese Orchestra. Experts and scholars attending came from Hong Kong, China and overseas, and many enlightening views were raised on the occasion. (1997)

• The Orchestra organized the International Competition for Chinese Orchestral Composition 2000 and the Chinese Orchestra Composition Symposium to promote Chinese orchestral compositions and explore the acoustic effects through different configuration layouts. (2000)

• The Orchestra organized a seminar series entitled On the Ecology of Chinese Music in a Modern Environment and Its Future Developments, and also invited music lovers and eight professional orchestras to take part in the worldwide poll for ‘Golden Chinese Classics of the Century’. (2002)

• The Orchestra organized The Fourth International Symposium on Chinese Music - Tradition and Evolution. (2007)

• The Orchestra organized the ever first Conducting Competition for Chinese Music, followed by the Hong Kong Symposium for Conducting. Local and overseas experts in the field, academics as well as representatives at senior executive or artistic level from orchestral groups in Asia were invited to participate. (2011)

• The Orchestra organized The International Composition Prize 2013 with The Luxembourg Society for Contemporary Music. (2013)

Achieving Guinness World Records
• A new Guinness World Record was set by the Orchestra when about a thousand Hong Kong citizens played at a mass performance entitled Music from a Thousand Strings. The official entry was made as the largest number of people performing the erhu at the same time. (2001)

• The Orchestra held the Opening Rally of the Hong Kong Drum Festival at an unprecedented mass performance witnessed by all Hong Kong, when three thousand Hong Kong citizens played a drum piece, The Earth Shall Move. The event marked another Guinness World Records entry for the Orchestra and served to boost the morale of the people of Hong Kong after the ravages of SARS. (2003)

• More than 500 Hong Kong citizens joined the HKCO in a mass performance at the Opening Ceremony of the Hong Kong Dizi and Xiao Festival 2005 - another world record for having the largest number of people playing the dizi together. (2005)

Honours and Awards
• The Orchestra was awarded for ‘The Most Outstanding Achievement in Advancing Contemporary Chinese Music’ by the ISCM World Music Days 2002 Hong Kong. (2002)

• The Orchestra was the first performing arts group to be awarded ‘Directors of the Year - Statutory / Non-profit-distributing Organisation Board’ by The Hong Kong Institute of Directors for achievement in corporate governance. (2004)

• The Orchestra was the first performing arts group to be awarded ‘2004 Best Corporate Governance Disclosure Awards - Gold Award of Public Sector / Not-for-profit Category’ by the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants. (2004)

• The Orchestra was the first performing arts group to be awarded for ‘The 28th Top Ten Chinese Gold Songs Award - The Golden Needle Award’ by Radio Television Hong Kong. (2005)

• The Orchestra was the first performing arts group to be awarded the ‘Caring Organisation’ logo by The Hong Kong Council of Social Services. (2005-2012)

• The Orchestra was awarded the ‘Most Outstanding Achievement in Advancing Asian Contemporary Music’ by the Asian Composers League. (2007)

Roots of the Chinese, a recording that featured the Orchestra, won two awards in the ‘Instrumental Music - Album’ category and the ‘Instrumental Music - Performance’ category at the 6th China Gold Record Awards. (2008)

• The Orchestra was the first performing arts group to be awarded the Judging Panel’s Grand Prize in The 2nd Hong Kong Corporate Branding Award. (2008)

• The Series of Eco-Huqin developed by the Orchestra was awarded the ‘Hong Kong Awards for Environmental Excellence - “Class of Good” Productwi$e Label’. (2008)

• The Chinese Music Alive Scheme of the Orchestra was awarded the Certificate of Merit - Award for Arts Education by the Hong Kong Arts Development Council. (2011)

• ‘The Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra presents the world’s first Hong Kong International Conducting Competition for Chinese Music’ was voted as one of the Top 10 Music Headlines by the related industries and Hong Kong citizens in two consecutive years. (2011, 2012)

• The Hong Kong International Conducting Competition for Chinese Music of the Orchestra was awarded the 2011 Bronze Award for Arts Promotion (Group/Organisation Category) by the Hong Kong Arts Development Council. (2012)

• The Series of Eco-Huqin developed by the Orchestra was on the honours list of the fourth ‘Ministry of Culture Innovation Awards’ of the People’s Republic of China. (2012)

Concert Programme (October 10)

String Quintet   Xiao-Ban   Xu Jianqiang
Erhu: Zhang Chongxue    Yangqin: Yu Mei-lai   Pipa: Zhang Ying
Zhongruan: Cui Can    Zheng: Luo Jing

String Quartet and Female Vocal    Apricot Blossoms Against a Blue Sky
Yao Henglu    Lyrics by Jiang Baishi (Song Dynasty)
Vocal: Yu Mei-lai    Erhu: Zhang Chongxue    Yangqin: Yu Mei-lai
Pipa: Zhang Ying    Zheng: Luo Jing

String Quintet  A Joyful Evening  Hu Dengtiao
Erhu: Zhang Chongxue    Yangqin: Yu Mei-lai   Pipa: Zhang Ying
Xiaoruan(Liuqin): Cui Can    Zheng: Luo Jing

String Quintet Leaping Dragon Hu Dengtiao
Erhu: Zhang Chongxue    Yangqin: Yu Mei-lai   Pipa: Zhang Ying
Xiaoruan (Liuqin): Cui Can    Zheng: Luo Jing

Pipa and Sanxian Duet Spring in Jiangnan
Jiang Shuilin and Wei Hongyu, after Wang Huiran’s pipa piece, Jiangnan in March
Pipa: Zhang Ying    Sanxian: Zhao Taisheng

Zheng and XiaoGoing Upriver at the Qingming Festival  Liu Weiguang
Zheng: Luo Jing    Xiao: Sun Yongzhi

Moonlight Over Spring River    Ancient Melody
Arr. by Qin Pengzhang, Luo Zhongrong & Yan Huichang

Thunder in a Drought    Yan Laolie   Arr.by Li Ka-wa

 

 
 
   
 

Yan Huichang
Artistic Director and Principal Conductor


Yan Huichang was conferred the title of National Class One Conductor at the First Professional Appraisal of China in 1987. He joins the Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra in June 1997. Yan was awarded the “Cultural Medallion (Music)” by the National Arts Council of Singapore in September 2001. In 2004, he was awarded a Bronze Bauhinia Star (BBS) by the Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region in recognition of his remarkable achievements in Chinese music as well as his efforts in promoting Chinese music. In 2008, he was awarded the Jurors’ Award for Conducting at the 6th China Gold Record Awards - Multi Arts Category. In 2010, Yan was awarded the Overseas Award for Music at the 51st Literary and Art Works Awards of the Chinese Writers’ & Artists’ Association (Taiwan). A book on Yan entitled The Making of a Maestro – the Story of Yan Huichang, authored by Dr Oliver Chou, a seasoned music critic, was published by Joint Publishing (Hong Kong) in August 2013.

Yan has been appointed guest or visiting professor by several music institutions, a position that allows him to promote Chinese music for the continuation of its heritage. He has given lectures and talks at the Central Conservatory of Music, Shanghai Conservatory of Music, The Sichuan Conservatory of Music, Shenyang Conservatory of Music, Xi’an Conservatory of Music and China Conservatory in China, and The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts (HKAPA) in Hong Kong. Yan has been a keen promoter of music education. In 2006, he was instrumental in proposing and the subsequent implementation of the Professional Orchestra Internship scheme through collaboration between The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts and the Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra. It was followed by The HKCO Orchestral Academy, which was a realization of Yan’s innovative vision. In the same year, he was awarded an Honorary Fellowship by HKAPA, with an appointment as Visiting Scholar of its School of Music, where he gave master classes in conducting and established Master’s degree courses in Chinese music conducting. In 2010, Yan initiated the world’s first ever ‘International Conducting Competition for Chinese Music’, which was enthusiastically supported and highly commended by professional music conservatories in China and overseas. In March 2012, he was invited to give master classes at the Conservatoire royal de Bruxelles, the Conservatoire de Luxembourg, and the Conservatoire national supérieur de musique et de danse de Paris, which made him the first ever Chinese to hold such classes there. In 2013, he was invited to be the Principal Guest Conductor of the Taiwan National Chinese Orchestra.

After graduating from the Shanghai Conservatory of Music in 1983, Yan was appointed Principal Conductor and Artistic Director of the Chinese National Orchestra of China. As a conductor who has worked with all professional Chinese orchestras in Beijing, Shanghai, Taiwan, Singapore and Hong Kong and philharmonic or symphony orchestras such as the China National Symphony Orchestra and the Shenzhen Symphony Orchestra. Yan has won the acclaim of the music circles in China and abroad for his artistic and conducting talents. He is now the Specially Invited Conductor of Chinese Music of the Zhejiang Symphony Orchestra of China. Yan has also been involved in music of other genres. Apart from conducting on the concert stage, Yan is also actively engaged in composition and has won numerous awards. His representative works include the symphonic poem The Sound of Water, Nostalgia for pipa solo, Buddhist music The Weiyang Sect, Qing Lian Yu Yue (‘Cyan Lotus under the Moon’) and Chuan Deng Xu Ming (‘The Passing of the Light’). In the early years of his career, Yan had been the composer and producer of digital music for record releases. The Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra’s audio and video releases over the years have been made under his baton.

Led by Yan, the Orchestra has seen omni-direction growth in the last decade, and is a driving force behind the promotion of Chinese music culture in China as well as other parts of the world.

 

 

 
 
 
             

 

 

 
   
   
 
 
   
YouTube HK Hong Kong Economic and Trade Office in London, United Kingdom BrandHK HKTDC Discover Hong Kong - Official Travel Guide from the Hong Kong Tourism Board

香港巡禮
  Русский English English
主頁
最新消息
活動相片
展覽會
影片
相片
香港中樂團演奏會
電影節
桌布下載
聯絡我們
 
             
           
             
 
 

香港中樂團

「這個樂團,眼看與耳聞同樣精彩。」 《紐約時報》唐馬士尼
Anthony Tommasini, The New York Times

背景

  • 于1977年成立,自2001年4月1日,由香港中樂團有限公司正式繼香港特別行政區政府康樂及文化事務署接管香港中樂團,為本港唯一之大型職業中樂團,享有「民樂翹楚」及「香港文化大使」之美譽。在歷任音樂總監吳大江(1977-1986)、關乃忠(1986-1993)、石信之(1993-1997),和現任藝術總監及首席指揮閻惠昌(1997-)的帶領下,樂團肩負著推廣中樂的任務。
  • 植根于歷史悠久的中國文化,演出的形式及內容包括傳統民族音樂及近代大型作品,樂團更廣泛地委約各種風格及類型的新作品,委約及委編作品逾2,100首,於國際及本地樂壇上屢獲殊榮。樂團的演出編制共85人,分拉弦、彈撥、吹管及敲擊四個樂器組別,其中包括傳統及新改革的多種樂器。

 

業務

  • 為全港市民展現繽紛多彩的中樂世界。每年除舉辦逾百場定期及外展音樂會外,更主辦多項與民同樂之大型活動及專題藝術節,如胡琴節、鼓樂節、笛簫節、古箏節、揚琴節、作曲家節、指揮家節等。
  • 為香港文化大使。經常獲邀於國際著名音樂廳及藝術節演出,足跡遍及澳洲、新加坡、日本、南韓、中國內地、臺灣、澳門、加拿大、美國、荷蘭、奧地利、德國、英國、法國、捷克、新西蘭、愛爾蘭、俄羅斯、比利時及挪威北極圈等地。
  • 為推廣中樂至社會各階層及資助樂團長遠發展,分別于1998年成立「中樂摯友會」及於2002年設立「香港中樂團發展基金」。
  • 為扶育音樂幼苗及培育新一代觀眾,除經常到學校演出外,于2003年成立香港兒童中樂團、香港少年中樂團,及舉辦樂器班;與電視臺、電臺及其他機構合作製作音樂教育節目及教育電腦光碟《中國音樂寶庫:胡琴篇》,積極參與教育工作。
  • 為培育專業演奏人才,樂團與香港藝術發展局、香港演藝學院、各大學、大專院校合作「人才培育計劃」、「香港演藝學院 — 專業樂團實習計劃」、「樂團藝術交流計劃」等。2009年與西安音樂學院合作正式成立全球首間「香港中樂團樂隊學院」。
  • 以多方位研究及發展中國傳統及近代音樂;改良樂器以達更佳聲效。為得到更全面的發展,樂團除作大型中樂合奏外,更分別成立民間音樂小組、室內樂小組、樂器改革研究小組等。
  • 製作了超過五十多張影音產品,包括音樂會現場錄音CD、VCD、DVD等,並於2003年推出全球首張大型中樂團SACD現場錄音音樂會專輯。
  • 為著名獲獎電影《天地英雄》及《功夫》演奏配樂。
  • 除於研討會完結後出版論文集外,更積極策劃及出版中樂導賞書籍如《中樂因您更動聽》及《大型中樂合奏觀賞秘笈》等。
  • 關懷弱勢社群。于2005年9月成立「樂在其中顯關懷」計劃,把中樂之美帶到老人院、兒童院及單親家庭中心等慈善機構以履行其社會責任。

 

國際性大賽及研討會

  • 舉辦以「中國民族管弦樂發展的方向與展望」為主題之中樂發展國際研討會,多位海外、中國內地及本地學者提出多項具啟發性之意見。(1997)
  • 舉行「21世紀國際作曲大賽」及「大型中樂作品創作研討會」,推動及探討中樂大型合奏作品,更以不同樂隊擺位探討對作品的演繹效果。(2000)
  • 舉辦「探討中國音樂在現代的生存環境及其發展」座談會,樂團並發起全球投票,由樂迷、樂團及八大專業樂團選出「二十世紀最受樂迷歡迎中樂作品」活動。(2002)
  • 舉辦「第四屆中樂國際研討會 — 傳承與流變」。(2007)
  • 舉辦全球首個中樂指揮大賽及「中樂指揮國際高峰論壇」,各地專家、學者及亞洲其他樂團行政及藝術領導應邀出席。(2011)
  • 樂團與盧森堡現代音樂協會合辦「2013國際作曲大賽」。(2013)

 

健力士世界紀錄

  • 樂團及近千名香港市民共同締造的「千弦齊鳴」,首創最多人同時演奏二胡的世界紀錄。(2001)
  • 樂團與三千多名香港市民在全港市民見證下于香港鼓樂節開幕式齊奏一曲《雷霆萬鈞》,鼓動香港市民在非典型肺炎疫症後的激勵鬥志。(2003)
  • 樂團與五百多名香港市民在香港笛簫節開幕式中演出笛子大齊奏,創下最多人同時演奏笛子的世界紀錄。(2005)

獎項
‧ 樂團榮獲香港國際現代音樂節頒贈「最傑出弘揚現代中樂榮譽大獎」。(2002)

‧ 首個藝術團體獲香港董事學會頒發「傑出董事獎 — 法定/非分配利潤組織董事會」獎項。(2004)

‧ 首個藝術團體獲香港會計師公會頒發「2004最佳企業管治資料披露大獎 — 公營/非牟利機構組別金獎」。(2004)

‧ 首個藝術團體獲香港電臺頒發第二十八屆十大中文金曲金針獎。(2005)

‧ 首個藝術團體獲香港社會服務聯會頒發「同心展關懷」標誌。(2005-2013)

‧ 樂團榮獲亞洲作曲家同盟頒發「最傑出弘揚亞洲現代音樂榮譽大獎」。(2007)

‧ 樂團演奏之唱片《華夏之根》榮獲第六屆中國金唱片獎器樂類專輯獎,樂團亦榮獲第六屆中國金唱片獎器樂類演奏獎。(2008)

‧ 首個藝術團體獲頒「香港驕傲企業品牌評選團大獎」。(2008)

‧ 樂團研製之環保胡琴獲「香港環保卓越計劃『良好級別』產品環保實踐標誌」。(2008)

‧ 樂團之Chinese Music Alive音樂推廣計劃榮獲香港藝術發展局頒發2010藝術教育獎優異表現獎。(2011)

‧ 樂團舉辦全球首次國際中樂指揮大賽連續兩年獲業界及市民投選為「十大樂聞」之一。(2011、2012)

‧ 樂團以「香港國際中樂指揮大賽」榮獲香港藝術發展局頒發2011藝術推廣獎之團體/機構組銅獎。(2012)

‧ 樂團研製的環保胡琴系列榮獲國家「第四屆文化部創新獎」。(6.2012)

 

 

 
 
   
 

閻惠昌
藝術總監兼首席指揮

1987 年,獲中國首屆專業評級授予國家一級指揮。閻惠昌於1997 年6 月履任香港中樂團。2001 年,獲新加坡政府頒發「2001 年文化獎」。2004 年獲香港特別行政區行政長官頒授銅紫荊星章,表揚其對於推廣中樂方面多所貢獻。2008 年,獲第六屆中國金唱片獎綜合類獎項中的評委會特別獎( 指揮類)。2010 年,獲臺灣第五十一屆中國文藝獎章( 海外文藝獎(音樂))。由三聯書店邀請資深樂評人周光蓁博士撰寫的《一位指揮家的誕生 — 閻惠昌傳》於2013年8月出版。

閻氏應聘擔任多間音樂院校客席及特聘教授,秉持傳承理念,曾多次於國內及香港進行演講及教授工作,包括中央音樂學院、上海音樂學院、香港演藝學院、四川音樂學院、瀋陽音樂學院、西安音樂學院及中國音樂學院等。閻氏一向積極推廣中樂教育,於2006 年倡議香港演藝學院與香港中樂團合作並實施「專業樂團實習計劃」,並於2009 年倡議創立全球首個中樂團樂隊學院。同年,獲香港演藝學院頒為榮譽院士,並獲聘為該校音樂學院之訪問學人,舉行指揮大師班及開設中樂指揮碩士課程。2010 年,倡議舉辦全球首屆國際中樂指揮大賽,獲國內外各專業音樂學院廣泛支持及讚譽。2012年3月,獲邀前往歐洲比利時布魯塞爾皇家音樂學院、盧森堡音樂學院及Conservatoire national supérieur de musique et de danse de Paris主持大師班,更是該院邀請的首位華人講者。2013年初,獲聘為臺灣國樂團首席客席指揮。

閻氏於1983 年以優異成績畢業於上海音樂學院,隨即受聘為中國中央民族樂團首席指揮兼樂隊藝術指導。曾先後指揮北京、上海、臺灣、新加坡及香港等地所有專業中樂團,亦有涉足西洋交響樂隊指揮,曾指揮中國國家交響樂團、深圳交響樂團等,他的藝術和指揮才華得到海內外樂界一致讚譽。活躍于指揮舞臺上的閻氏亦積極從事音樂創作,獲獎無數,作品包括交響音畫《水之聲》、琵琶獨奏《思鄉曲》。其他作品包括佛教音樂《溈仰宗》、《青蓮遇月》和《傳燈續明》等。閻氏早期曾創作及監製電腦音樂作品唱片專輯,其指揮香港中樂團的影音產品亦陸續推出。

在過去十多年,香港中樂團在閻氏的帶領下作全方位發展,積極地向海內外

推廣中國音樂文化。

 

 

 
 
 
             

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
   
   
 
 
   
YouTube HK Hong Kong Economic and Trade Office in London, United Kingdom BrandHK HKTDC Discover Hong Kong - Official Travel Guide from the Hong Kong Tourism Board